LATE – Below Street Level

LATE - Below Street Level

LATE - Below Street Level


LATE – Below Street Level (Wolftown Recordings)

LATE’s debut album really is as good as everyone says it is! I mean the fact that an artist has guest features from the likes of Willie D from the legendary Geto Boys, West Coast veteran JT The Bigga Figga, KB Da Kidnappa from Street Military, Geezy from Mac Dre’s Thizz World label and South Park Coalition founder K-Rino on three tracks. Other acts feature too, but on the whole its LATE’s solo tracks that do it for me. “I’m Not Going Away” sees anthemic horns join deep bass and synth sounds while LATE kills it on the microphone with bars such as “I came from nothing no label advance/took a glance/took a chance and took my stance”. “Knowledge Over Nonsense” shows how much LATE has grown as an artist as he drops positive and uplifting bars. Other killer solo tracks included the summer vibes of “Supply & Demand”, the banging “My Zone” and my favourite “Reality Rap” where LATE tells us about his inspirations and the music that he loves. I hadn’t even heard of half the acts he mentions in this song, but after research I have just been opened up to a whole bunch of music I didn’t even know existed. LATE is grown. LATE is talented and above all, this Tricksta produced album is the biggest UK release of 2008. Massive.

LATE
Wolftown Recordings

Review by Phillip Gates

Leave a Reply

